The Restless Photographer

“The only photographer recommended by The Royal Art Society of NSW.”

Two photographers, one whom I have been lucky enough to meet, and one who I would love to meet – both from two of Australia’s biggest cities, Sydney and Melbourne. John Slaytor (Sydney-based), and Greg Briggs (Melbourne-based). These photographers, I would consider to be on my list of my most influential image-creators who stick in the back of my mind. The photographs that these two creatives come up with impress me beyond words. Every image is put together so intrinsically well; my eyes just stare as my brain goes on a journey, both as an audience in awe and as a fellow creative technically pulling the composition apart.

“This capture at a funeral, to me, visually represents life itself. The composition falls off balance, and presents a display of unsettlement – a presence that visits every once in a while throughout the lifetime of a human. Like a slide projector, flicking over to the next image. This is a fleeting moment; A powerful and sad yet beautiful scene of love and loss – expresses an incredibly long story. Have another look….”
Funeral photography and why it matters

John Slaytor is so incredibly dedicated and talented at what he does, as is Greg Briggs. In 2012, John signed up as mentor for a community-based photography project in St. Marys, that “I just so happened to be a part of“, fortunately. When we became introduced, I was so pleased to learn about John’s “style” as a photographer. John elaborated on something I hadn’t heard or thought of before. John focuses his time offering his service as a Funeral Photographer, among photographing christenings, weddings, Liferals, portraits and celebrations of all kinds, all in close contact with families celebrating and remembering important life events – moments in time that pass fleetingly. John is an intimate photographer.

Clif, 97 years old.
John portraits are so beautiful and this is probably why – “My goal is to return portrait photography to its former glory. I differ from earlier portrait photographers only due to the fact that digital photography has given me unprecedented freedom to capture movement and mood.”
Is photography wasted on the young?

I instantly became infatuated and inspired with his work, and thereafter, ever since, am amazed by the work that he shares. I admire him greatly, and hope that I can one day reach his photographic calibre. I will never forget our parting words where he stated that “You will be a photographer” gesturing to both my friend and I, that one day, with dedication and passion, our dreams will come true.

“When I first heard about John’s work, this rendered me amazed, as it was unexpected. A dream of mine is to be a personal photographer for an actor, musical talent or anyone who lives to travel and create, like this. To get a glimpse into this-kind-of-world is truly revealing.”
Important milestones in my photography – Ja Rule


“This inventive series of Sydney train commuters reveals what is truly underneath the mask and on the faces of people, traveling the rails around town. Just what is on their mind?”
Lost In Transit

I can’t remember how I happened to come across the work of Greg Briggs, it might have had something to do with John’s ‘Lost In Transit’ series featuring many reflective commuters, but boy am I glad that I did find Greg. His street photography in particular is so stunning and such a pleasure to revisit and look at, again and again. Greg’s compositions are so clever and beautiful that I find it so difficult to look away. I also find it amazing that many of his photographs that I tend to fall for are captured with an iPhone!

His photographs encompass all that I reach and set goals for. The style and techniques that he bestows continually brings me back for more. Have a look at the vastly fun gallery and blog of Greg Briggs, as there is so much goodness to feed your eyes with over there.

8 responses to “The Restless Photographer

    • You are very welcome, Mr Briggs. I think it may be obvious, but I have to say it again – I love what you do with your photography! Positively inspiring ;).

  1. I’m extremely impressed together with your writing skills as well as with the layout for your blog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the nice quality writing,
    it is uncommon to look a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

    • Thank you very much! I am pleased to know of your gratification. I really do appreciate your words…
      The resulting layout of this blog came from two prior revisions – both of which never gave me “that feeling” of satisfaction. After a long while of mental building (imagining what I thought would be the perfect setup), I knew exactly what to search for. And luckily, I found this free template/theme from which I built up from. It is called “Oxygen” = http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/oxygen/
      I’m very proud with what I’ve been able to do here thus far. Thank goodness for sites like WordPress!!!

  2. My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog.
    He was once totally right. This post truly made my day.
    You cann’t consider just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    • As I have for you, you have done for me. Thank you for your words. I really mean that.
      Although it may not look like it at times, I dedicate so much of my time building content for my blog posts. I am very, very pleased to hear that there are people, including you, who appreciate what efforts I put into “creating”. Thank you again, Corine! ;)

Leave a Reply

