Analogue Output

I could probably fill a few postings with my notes i’ve created, battling with my constant struggle with my desires to pursue “film” photography. The general photographic technology of today just seems to me to be completely boring. Nothing spontaneous or unexpected can seemingly be achieved from straight digital files (which is probably why I started out purposefully corrupting, data moshing and glitching my files, just so that something strange and unexpected would happen with my images).

Trying...
Trying…

As far as Videography goes, I simply can’t afford to do what I want to do, moreso than my still photography. It is something I would love to grasp. I have a beautiful ISCO Gottingen Anamorphic Lens sitting in my camera bag right now, with no applicable way of becoming useful. I need expensive equipment to use that incredible piece (one day though… I have patience). A somewhat easier but ultimately more problematic way of achieving the looks I want, through my counter-culture ways, started mid/later last year when my Dad and I went through every homevideo VHS tape. There is something just so incredibly special about physical media. Cellulose acetate film, electronic/magnetic video tape cassettes – it’s all so cool! I feel like i’ve JUST missed out on a great era…. the mid-80s. TV’s The Goldbergs is definitely teasing my lust.
The following video attachments are created using all of the beautiful technologies I hope I can someday have available to me, at my fingertips.

The Aesthetic Consumer, Lyall Coburn, is one of a few great photographers I have managed to come across who utilize the great mid 1980s tube-camcorder. Above, ‘Xiomara‘. I believe he may have used a Hitachi, but whatever brand he used, that “look” is so special. I think the Saticon tube technology is behind that. I found a topic on Cinematography.com where Director of Photography Charles Papert, on Comedy Central’s Key & Peele, shares his experience with a 1/2 Saticon tube Magnavox in the ‘Obama: The College Years‘ segment, and a three 2/3 Saticon tubed JVC-KY1900 for the ‘Mr.T PSA‘ segment. It just goes to show that you can’t emulate this kind of beauty solely with today’s modern methods (i.e. After Effects).

As used the above video, a JVC-KY1900, is so very similar to the “portable television studio” used in ‘Back to the Future‘ (below). This blog post on HD Warrior showcases just some of the beauty of this grand technology. Pretty wonderful for only being 29 years old.

Back to AConsumer, this short ‘Isolator‘ reminds me of some tapes my Dad made when he was my age (now), where he and his friends used to work on short films. The presence of such a characteristic image on screen evokes so many hidden memories. It also gives a sense of timing, a portion of time allocated to a specific era.

Even the use of specific audio samples provokes certain feelings.

Beautiful

Lyall’s genius style also comes through in these incredible 16mm Kodak films that he has masterfully created.

This fellow Aussie has a really amazing collection of cameras (see list in video description). It is great to see all the different types of camera tubes, compared to each other; Even compared to the one CCD at the end of the video presentation.

This final video I have to share here is one I discovered last year. An absolute perfect example of the kind of uses I would have for my ISCO Anamorphic lens. This choice and use of music in union with the sequence of motion pictures form an amazing relationship. This is one of my favourite short films i’ve managed to see thus far.
—-
I have hope, but I think I will have to be content with the fact that most camera’s from the mid-80s (according to eBay and Gumtree) will most likely be faulty, have missing parts and components, dead batteries, incorrect power conversions and burned out tubes. For now, still photography maintains its position as my primary tool for expression and storytelling.

One response to “Analogue Output

  1. Pingback: Land of Wonder #2 | HICKEY GUY·

Leave a Reply

