Wedges – 2K14 – DIV.1


-April 22nd, 2014-

To All The World

One night, a week ago, I watched the live television broadcast of the opening of Disneyland (Sunday afternoon, July 17th, 1955) with my Mum and Dad. That was pretty special. I loved seeing the black and white camera tube technology they had available to them. One night following, a few nights later, the ‘Disneyland, U.S.A.‘ volume was played once again – this time I watched ‘Disneyland: After Dark‘ with my Dad. This colour episode (YouTube link) is something I have never seen before, but something my Dad may have seen on TV many years ago, in black and white. What a beautiful film. The colours give you that “special” feeling inside. Obviously, Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color! The park, so full of life and smiles all ’round. Albeit, to this day, Disneyland is “the happiest place on earth“, it is a nice surprise to see such an exciting liveliness within such a gathering. I have been incredibly lucky to have been able to visit Disneyland III times in my past 21 years. Such a wonderful place to make great memories. And to think of all the great memories made there, by all those who have passed through…. Wow.

“To all who come to this happy place: Welcome. Disneyland is your land. Here age relives fond memories of the past, and here youth may savor the challenge and promise of the future. Disneyland is dedicated to the ideals, the dreams, and the hard facts that have created America, with the hope that it will be a source of joy and inspiration to all the world.”

Akin to Wonderland, Disneyland has had such a large significance and importance in the lives of my Mum, Dad & I. My Dad in particular, grew up dreaming of Disneyland, and never once thought his dream would one day come true, believing that it would be impossible to travel so far and afford to make it to the other side of the planet.
Well, on this day, 27 years ago, (Wednesday then), April 22nd 1987, my Mum & Dad boarded their honeymoon flight to embark on their first great adventure. A dream come true.
Looking at various happy snaps Mum and Dad took on that trip brings me to feel a somewhat familiar sense of warmth and peace. Mum and Dad brought back with them ‘A Disneyland Day – Relive The Memories‘ – A VHS which I would frequently play growing up. As it has always been, the music and aura of joy in the atmosphere, is present. I loved being able to see the park in film form before actually visiting the place in person. You feel linked, just like you know the land by instinct.
The Walt Disney Treasures series is truly something to have pass before your eyes on TV at least once in your life. The history and joy of past times gone by are absolutely and positively supreme, to be able to observe. Seeing this footage – although shot a-long-time previous to when Mum, Dad or even I had been – takes you back, and transports your mind, initiating a mental recall to memories made there, in Disneyland.


-April 15th, 2014-

Frog In A Pot

Yesterday, I discovered something that I have been searching for, for many years. Juan Melara has shared with the World Wide Web, something incredibly valuable to those who are curious. I am one of those, who are interested. Emulating that “film” look on a computer, is what I have been interested in achieving with my still photography, as best I can without actually having to work with chemical, acetate celluloid film, or even the ever-expensive venture of motion picture filmmaking – for many years. To work exclusively with the beautiful medium of film, would be a dream-come-true. I find that I am actually very lucky to be able to work with what rolls and sheets of film I get to use today – but in those days when I can’t, digital is my second option. Juan’s in-depth postings provide knowledge both professional and personal, and this greatly assists my workflow in the times when I do resort to digital imagery.
I really like his “colour” style and insights within the industry (The Summer Blockbuster Colour Grading Tutorial). The following link can take you to the corresponding colour grading category/tag of Juan’s website. So much to learn… I have to thank VideoCopilot’s Andrew Kramer for being my main source of “teachings”, back when I first started taking digital imagery seriously, 6 years ago. It is because of him I am now able to understand such methods and technologies that are used by professionals (such as, Juan) in the Photographic worlds. Great people like this offer valuable knowledge, both educational and fun, for those people willing to learn. I am so grateful.



-April 7th, 2014-

One Person Can Make A Difference

“With great power comes great responsibility.”

Almost 12 years ago, I was with my Dad watching Spider-Man on the big screen. Just this past week, I re-watched the trilogy on TV with my Dad. I hadn’t seen the first film in as long as 7 years since Spider-Man 3 came out. Time truly does fly. I love these movies. Superhero stories are always fun to dive right into. I remember when my local video store, VideoEzy, was closing down (10 years ago) – they were selling an abundance of their VHS tapes. On that day, not only did I get my beloved ‘Beanstalk‘ which i’d rented dozens of times over the past 10 years (previous to that time), but I also got Spider-Man. I watched it frequently. Thinking back, it would have to be in my top 5 most watched VHS tapes. I also loved playing the tape periodically because of the music video that would play just before the movie. Nickelback “Hero”, was my most favourite song back then. Hearing it on Video Hits every weekend, gave me goosebumps. I think for me, what sets this series of films apart from all other Marvel films (in recent years), is the musical score. Danny Elfman is a great composer of so many iconic tracks; who is also responsible for the soundtrack of another top superhero favourite of mine, Hulk. Both Lee’s, Ang & Stan are geniuses!

I treasure memories of childhood. Growing up, one memory in particular – when I had my very own Spidey Web Blaster (which shot white silly string). I had lots of fun with that knickknack. But in times when I couldn’t have such a toy with me, at school, I had my mini-Spider-Man-comics. Those small booklet-esque, yellow bordered comics helped keep me entertained when happiness was not permitted. I brought them with me to swim school – for some strange reason, I have a vivid memory of me sitting pool-side, pulling these comics out from my pocket, reading them, one dark, overcast, cloudy, and windy afternoon, with everyone splashing away there, below.
Spider-Man has been the kindle to so many memories I have, which when alight, produce great nostalgic feelings. He provided my young mind with stories heartfelt – which I continue to find meanings for and understand in different ways, to this day.



-March 28th, 2014-

Little Cubby In The Garden

Little Cubby In The Garden
Little Cubby In The Garden.

The smell of cypress pine in the air today. Bringing me back, revitalizing memories once lived by a 4-year old self. 1996, a miniature copy of this house i’ve lived in all my life, was built in our back yard. Verandah and all. A cubby house for my brother and I. I loved that cubby house.



-March 21st, 2014-

719th Meditation

“MMMMMMMM”

I just so happened to find a nice place to sit, today… for 465 minutes. Didn’t eat anything. Didn’t drink anything. Just sat put and concentrated. This comic, which I first saw in The Confessions of Robert Crumb, seemed to resemble my day.


-March 14th, 2014-

Happ ‘eh Birthh ‘de Mama

“Happ ‘eh Birthh ‘de, Mama. I hope yuh dig ‘t”

Happy 46th Birthday to my Mum, today!!! I hope you found my Robert Crumb inspired one-pager jolly humorous. Time to enjoy and play with the process of inking.




-March 3rd, 2014-

Never Sorry

“If my art has nothing to do with people’s pain and sorrow, what is ‘art’ for?” – Ai Weiwei

I had been waiting for almost two and a half years before I got to see this documentary. Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, a multi-award winner, documents the life story of renowned Chinese artist and activist, Ai Weiwei.
Son of the famous modern Chinese poet, Ai Qing, is an active contemporary artist, popular for his bravery. The work he and his team create, are truly thought-provoking. The statements he has to share with the world are so necessary. The world today, needs more “Ai Weiwei” provocation.

Dissident artist Ai Weiwei bursts into song, using homonyms to mock the Chinese government and its censors.


-March 1st, 2014-

Little Brother

Little Brother
Little Brother.

17 years ago, on this day, I lost my little brother. Every year following, a sense of anxiety and unease makes its presence in the general ambiance of each day surrounding this time.
Mum, Dad & I, together feel and remember that morning, in-which no one should ever experience such happenings. I relive that morning, aged 4 years – fresh to what life’s mystery holds.
Roddy still lives on, in all of us.



-February 23rd, 2014-

F@!#ing Pumper

“Just juice me!”

Chev, are you trying to become a Master of Evil? Is Doctor Lizardo prescribing you with regular doses from a homemade electromagnet? (…see yesterdays ‘Wedge‘ below) Oh I see, your strawberry tart needs a reCHARGE!


“Who’s got my f@!#ing strawberry tart?”



-February 22nd, 2014-

Interdimensional Breakthrough

“Character is what you are in the dark.”

Buckaroo Banzai – Now I know why you have such a great following across, through-in-and-out, the 8th Dimension.


-February 14th, 2014-

“Humor in a Jugular Vein”

“It’s crackers to slip a rozzer, the dropsy in snide.”

This past week has been pretty busy! What I chose to do to calm my mind and put a large smile on my humdrum face, was to read my Dad’s birthday gift – ‘Inside MAD‘. It didn’t take me long to get through it; possibly because I couldn’t stop reading – I enjoyed every single page. I didn’t want it to end, so now i’m tripping onwards to its predecessor, ‘Totally MAD‘…. The title of which, rendering what is on my mind – Completely, Utterly and Totally MAD about MAD! I’ve loved everything about it since introduction, and I have my Dad to thank for that! Thank you Dad! I only wish that I could have been around to see the days of genesis, to witness over the years when you grew up, how Alfred would influence people to yecch!


-February 7th, 2014-

Sapphire

Sapphire
Sapphire.

22 years ago today, Friday Feb 7, 1992 – Mum & Dad found out that I was hibernating inside my Mum’s belly.



-February 3rd, 2014-

The End is built into The Beginning.

“I will be dying and so will you, and so will everyone here.”

Another of my favourite actors has passed away in the past day. Philip Seymour Hoffman, a key in so many of the most powerful and deeply told stories in film, that I have seen over the years. ‘Synecdoche, New York’ – a film written and directed by Charlie Kaufman (writer in so many of my favourite Spike Jonze pictures), brings me to think that I have seen a glimpse into the mind of the most passionate Philip.

As the scene fades to gray, Caden says that now he has an idea for how to do the play, when the director’s voice in his ear gives him his final cue: “Die.”

It has been a few years since I last saw this film; The moment was in a time when I was experiencing a sense of melancholy. It was a picture to fit the atmosphere and time. I have since emerged from the depths that flashed before me. Reading Brandon Novak’s story as a Dreamseller, prompts me, sometimes, to think about what heroin does to the mind of a user. We can wonder, but we will never truly know what appeared, through and in Philip’s mind when he finally released the devils juice into his arm, one last time.


-February 2nd, 2014-

News Flash!

” I just saw your “so-called killer” wipe up the street with your so-called police force!”

After enjoying two made-for-tv films and 20 episodes of Kolchak as The Night Stalker, I am finding myself consistently questioning why they never made more with that show. It was great.


“Carl Kolchak. I’m with the I.N.S.”

Back in 2005, I first got a taste of The Night Stalker through my Dad. He grew up watching the original series, and ever since seeing the remake on TV, we had planned on searching for the original episodes for many years. Last year I finally found it, and began to watch it with my Dad. I find it sad that it ended in cancellation after only one year. It could have gone on for so long!


-January 21st, 2014-

Short Hairy Guy

“You’ve got to learn to let go.”

Gravity, a film of great weight. It was such a joy to be able to believe in every artificial element that appeared on screen. The creators did such a good job in making everything so well. It was definitely an experience, so beautiful, to witness such details looking down on Earth, from the nether existence, thermosphere, of space.
Throughout, I picked up on familiar ingredients that reminded me of other amazing movies that I have loved in a similar way. ‘The Perfect Storm‘ (a true story), ‘Pandorum‘, ‘Moon‘, ‘Apollo 13‘, even ‘The Last Days on Mars‘; and of course ‘2001: A Space Odessey‘. Even the majestic ‘Titanic‘ reminded me of this film, to a degree. The seamless camera work (which still bewilders my brain) brought me back to to Gaspar Noé’s ‘Irreversible‘ and ‘Enter The Void‘ – both films of a completely different taste, but still the same gesture of motion within the airborne atmosphere we move in.


“Then I realize, the guy’s no guy. My sister’s friend is holding hands with a….”

I love it when, on occasion, you get to watch a movie with a deeper meaning attached. This story featured many, but presented greatly, reflection upon oneself – through very simple yet very important, often overlooked elements of human life. I like to reflect sometimes, and given the opportunity to look back on who you are, from a different perspective, can be heavy but remarkably rewarded. One message I took note of while watching Gravity, was how amazing and beautiful Our Planet Earth really is.


-January 19th, 2014-

The Fantastic Four

“Let’s hope we have a home to go home to.”

Last night I had the wonderful experience of watching a film that brought me back to a time when I rented VHS tapes regularly (maybe even frequently), of movies that I absolutely loved seeing, all the time. Warriors of Virtue & Beanstalk are two films that ran through my mind constantly as I watched this movie. The Fantastic Four, completed in 1994 and unreleased, following a series of unfortunate truths – // Speculation arose that the film had never been intended for release, but had gone into production solely as a way for Bernd Eichinger to retain rights to the characters; Marvel Comics’ Stan Lee in 2005 said this was the case, insisting, “The movie was never supposed to be shown to anybody,” and adding that the cast and crew had been left unaware.


“It’s clobberin’ time!”

Dad had asked me to see if I could find this movie online because the great Roger Corman had produced it… and because The Thing just looked so cool. I loved The Skateboard Kid growing up, so I knew I would love F4 to some degree. Throughout the whole adventure, I could just see Jamie with his eyes glued to a TV watching the Turbo-Man TV series, as it felt so reminiscent. Classic Cult Underrated/B-Movie!


-January 18th, 2014-

BABE

“I’m Mr. Hardy, and this is my friend, Mr. Laurel.”

Born 100 years before me, 1892 – Oliver Norvell Hardy celebrates his birthday today, turning 122. Babe’s mannerisms are so wonderful, and still innovative in my eyes and many, to this day. I am always amazed, and fascinated by how natural his timings were when reacting to Stan’s simple yet complex, befuddled thought sequence. Stan & Babe have given me the ability to laugh to the point of tears for as long as I can remember.

Happy Birthday Babe!

“Neither Mr. Laurel nor Mr. Hardy had any thoughts of doing wrong. As a matter of fact, they had no thoughts of any kind.”


-January 13th, 2014-

Bean’s Mother

“Oh Jesus! Oh God! Oh Jesus! Mary mother Jesus of Nazareth!”

One of the very first movies I remember seeing at the newly built Hoyts cinema, in the Penrith Plaza, 1996/97 – was ‘BEAN‘. Scenes on the big screen including the “hand gun” incident, and the hilarious flashback snapshots appearing in the credits – are embedded (small yet segmented) there in my memory; alike many of the memories I have at the movies with my Dad.
This particular scene where Mr. Bean sneezes on Whistler’s Mother, has always made me wary when handling or creating pictures, as damage like this is a nightmare just thinking about. Though, sometimes accidents pertaining to Art (“Happy Accidents”) can be welcomed for many reasons. In this case, Mr. Bean now has an authentic, personalised Whistler hanging in his bedroom.


-January 8th, 2014-

Mr. Happy

“Thanks for the crime! “

Over the weekend, I watched Bad Grandpa with my Mum and Dad. Few times can I recall ever crying from laughter. These times, though, I remember vividly, for how intense and joyous these moments can be – especially when shared with those you love.
Dickhouse has created a wonderful film, in the Jackass style, but with a touch of story and love. The bond between Irving and Billy is so strong on screen. The journey they take is a real pleasure to see unfold. It fit so well to end with this scene of a stream. All they wanted to do was go fish!


-January 7th, 2014-

Mr. Kimble

“Who is your daddy and what does he do?”

I watched one of my favourite films just last Friday night, that I hadn’t seen in around 8 years. A friend of mine from Primary School, Nathan, introduced me to this movie on a sleepover one night at his house (sometime in mid-2002 – the same sleepover that I played GTAIII for the first time). When Mum finally got it on VHS, it became an instant family classic, and I remember playing it, watching it with Mum, numerous times over the 2003/2004 new year holiday. That was 10 years ago, and since, I might have only played it a couple of times (since VHS tapes and players have phased out). Seeing it in High Definition, being able to see all the grain in the picture, brought a whole new light to my favourite Astoria, Elementary School.


-January 2nd, 2014-

Ten Years

Ten Years
Ten Years.

One decade ago, I started my year in the sixth grade. Year 6, 2004 – My final year in primary school and Penrith Anglican College. I have so many great memories from this period in my life, 2003-2004. Handball and Beyblades ruled the quadrangles surrounding the stage 2 and 3 classrooms in these years.



-January 1st, 2014-

Woodpecker

“Saying goodbye to my “Woodpecker” hair tonight c]:) — with Stan Laurel.”

In light of a new year, new additions can be found on my humble website. Welcome to the very first Wedge here in the Keystone. Just before Christmas, I had to have a haircut, to survive the summer heat. Mum always cuts my hair. A ‘number four’ buzz, always does the trick. Though, I will miss my wonderful “Woodpecker” hair, reminiscent of Stan’s.

2 responses to “Wedges – 2K14 – DIV.1

  1. Pingback: Wedges – 2K14 – DIV.2 | HICKEY GUY·

  2. Pingback: Wedges – 2K15 – DIV.4 | HICKEY GUY·

Leave a Reply

