Wedges – 2K15 – DIV.5


-December 25th, 2015-

Christmas Day


A Christmas party at Mickey’s house
Was a signal for oodles of fun,
And all of the gang arrived with gifts,
Which were opened one by one. [1935]


-December 23rd, 2015-

Borgfeldt Two

Borgfeldt Two
Borgfeldt Two

This ‘Mickey Mouse’ doll is my Dad’s favourite among all the jolly little fellows. By George Borgfeldt (USA) in 1932, is the second in a series of Three dolls produced by Borgfeldt/Nifty Toys. Mickey stands approximately 12″ tall, features Yellow Felt Hands, Red Cloth Pants and a Black Cloth Body – complete with Mother of Pearl Buttons and printed Facial Features. He even retains a part of his original Rubber Tail.

Backside of Borgfeldt Two
Backside of Borgfeldt Two




-November 28th, 2015-

Borgfeldt One

Borgfeldt One
Borgfeldt One

This ‘Mickey Mouse’ doll – by George Borgfeldt (USA) in 1931, is the first in a series of 3 dolls produced by Borgfeldt/Nifty Toys. Mickey stands approximately 12″ tall, features Yellow Felt Hands, Bent Arms, Red Cloth Pants and a Woven-Felt Body – complete with Mother of Pearl Buttons and printed Facial “Curtain” & ‘Pie-Cut‘ Eyes. This particular fellow has an attributed Red Sewn mouth/smile – which would have been Minnie Mouse’s designated colour. However, both Mickey & Minnie can be found out there in the Wide World with both ‘Red’ AND ‘Black’ Sewn Smiles.

Backside of Borgfeldt One
Backside of Borgfeldt One




-October 23rd, 2015-

Mickey Clark

Mickey Clark
Mickey Clark

This early ‘Mickey Mouse’ doll – made by Charlotte Clark (USA ) in 1930, is one of the very first produced dolls after the infamous “first shipment” batch. Mickey stands approximately 12″ tall, features Satin Hands, Red Velvet Pants and a Velveteen Body, including a Long Black Tail. All complete with Mother of Pearl Buttons and signature ‘Pie-CutOil Cloth Eyes.

Backside of Mickey Clark
Backside of Mickey Clark




-October 9th, 2015-

Mickeybocker

Mickeybocker
Mickeybocker

This ‘Mickey Mouse’ doll – made by Knickerbocker (USA) in 1934, is the first doll design in Knickerbocker’s “Mickey” series. Mickey stands 12″ tall, features Open Fingers and Soft Felt Shoes – also with a Non-Printed Black Fabric “Curtain” around the face. He is missing his Whiskers and Rubber Tail, but showcases a jolly look. Charlotte Clark’s consultation with Knickerbocker as per Disney’s wishes, turned out superb with this first design in the Knickerbocker soft toy line.

Backside of Mickeybocker
Backside of Mickeybocker




-September 29th, 2015-

One Month

One Month
One Month

This Photograph of my Mum was made 4 weeks after the accident. Presently in a Jewett, enjoying the full ‘Spring’ bloom of flowers amongst the May Bushes – the 12th of September, 2K15.
Today, the 29th of September, marks One Month since Mum was allowed to come home!



-September 23rd, 2015-

23rd


23rd

On the 23rd, my 23rd birthday.



-September 10th, 2015-

Stive Robinson


Stive Robinson

A few days before my Mum fell off the ladder and broke her back, I discovered something very sad about someone I used to know. Growing up, I didn’t have very many people close to me, to look up to. Drawing meant so much to me as a child, and most likely was because of my Dad, who is an incredible artist in so many ways. There was only one other Artist in my life, whom I took a lot of inspiration from, and his name was Steve – a wanderer, somewhat lost from what I could see in my young eyes. I looked up to him – he was so talented in his native craft. I found out in this sad discovery that Steve had passed away in 2012.

Steve worked as an independent artist for many company’s – some including Disney (the Goofy movies) & Hanna Barbera (Darkwing Duck), of which he used his creditory pseudonym ‘Stive‘. He was also hired to set up business for Hanna-Barbera in the Philippines. Steve was so particularly skilled in the Art of Drawing. Even to this day, I have not seen many others who could create such quality like him. The sad part is that he went largely unknown, for where I believe he really could have shined! I think he deserved more credit than he got.

I believe the last time I heard from him (on the phone) was in 2011, just before Christmas. He was so happy to hear that I had chosen to continue my education in the field of Art (I remember him trying to teach me how to advance my drawing skills at age 6-ish). I am grateful for the fact that I was able to say that I loved him, just before saying goodbye for the very last time.

Here are some, among a vast list of achievements and highlights from Stive‘s career as an Independent Freelance Artist =



-August 29th, 2015-

Day 14

Day 14
Day 14

Today my Mum got up and walked around for the first time in 2 weeks. The brace Mum is wearing is the first of its design. All the Nurses and Therapists are learning through her as a subject, how to use it. Mum is so brave!



-August 3rd, 2015-

More to the Eye

Our ‘Goof’, surprised us this week – click on the photograph above to view The Goof’s update, “More to the Eye”….



-July 26th, 2015-

First Shipment

This magical image features Walt in early 1930, surrounded by the very first shipment of Charlotte Clark ‘Mickey Mouse’ dolls – an image which I am fascinated by. In January of 1930, Charlotte and her nephew Bob Clampett created their very first Mickey doll.
Where are these amazing creations?!?




-July 17th, 2015-

Knickey Mouse

Knickey Mouse
Knickey Mouse

This ‘Mickey Mouse’ doll – made by Knickerbocker (USA) in 1935, is the third and final version of this particular doll, after the two open-fingered designs before it (in 1934 – not including the “cuddle” variant). Mickey stands 12″ tall, features Closed Fingers and Hard Wood-Composite Shoes. Even though Mickey is missing a button and has experienced a history of rough love – he exhibits his eternal charm, indelibly.

Backside of Knickey Mouse
Backside of Knickey Mouse




-July 12th, 2015-

L.Middlebrook

Friendships are a rare and special concept in my world. Relationships that i’ve been lucky enough to have, throughout my years – I’ve held close to my heart. The memories I have, make me so proud of my childhood. The sad reality is that these friendships all end, in one way or another.
One of my first friends, who is my longest lasting friend I’ve been able to keep some contact with, is Luke Middlebrook. We met on the first day of Kindergarten (beginning of 1998), and seemed to develop a liking towards one another, instantly – a fondness that never faded, and one at that, which I have yearned for, ever since. I love to dream often about the warm and memorable adventures we shared together throughout our early years. He was my Hardy, as I to his Laurel.
At the end of 2004, graduating from the Primary stages, I needed to move to a new school for my High School stages, closer to home. Luke shed a tear or two at the news – showing just what kind of person he is, even at such a young age. I knew he would go on to pursue something great, with all his heart.

A decade later, Luke is truly excelling in his chosen craft – and has surprised me with such a grand gesture of dedication, determination and work ethic, towards the Arts. The industry he is swimming within, is a tough, rough and rugged one. I can’t think of a more deserving way to support Luke in his ventures, other than sharing his Universal Resource Locator to those of you, precious visitors. Please do take a little time to view this URL, to keep up with any news Luke might have to share….
On the subject of sharing – another friend who is well-deserving of some acknowledgement is Darb, who is the creator of HYPELESSONE. The appreciation does not go unnoticed!!!



-July 2nd, 2015-

HICKEY-SCREEN


‘Add to Home Screen’

Just updated for the first time since 2K13 – the HICKEYGUY site .ICO (aka WordPress Gravatar). Optimized for higher resolution screens and designed to POP! on SAMOLED displays. Enjoy, and please keep this site close on your device’s Home Screens.



-June 19th, 2015-

The Goof

The Goof
The Goof

One of my favourite dolls – ‘The Goof’, made by Charlotte Clark (USA) in 1936. Goofy stands approximately 30″ tall and is particularly large in comparison to most dolls. He features Satin hands, Corduroy clothing and Soft Felt Shoes. The Goof being Goofy and-all, lost his hat many years ago, along his travels.

Backside of The Goof
Backside of The Goof




-June 7th, 2015-

Captain Wales

Captain Wales
Captain Wales

One month ago, Thursday, the 7th of May, 2K15Prince Harry farewells Australia, admirably interacting with the mingled crowd, seagulls overhead, visiting the Sydney Opera House for the first time. Arching in the background is the Sydney Harbour Bridge. I overheard an elderly couple remarking how fresh and vibrant the new flags were, adorning the bridge (the State flag for New South Wales & the Australian National flag).
Captain Wales complimented the boonie hat my Mum was wearing, making a lifetime dream come true – something I pushed Mum to put on, knowing that camouflage would oddly “stand out” in the eye of the trained. Out of respect to those serving, I knew Prince Harry would appreciate seeing a piece of military attire within his send-off assembly.



-June 1st, 2015-

Bella Vista

Bella Vista
Bella Vista

Formerly, a boat shed on the banks of the Nepean River (William Rowe’s Boatshed) – a homestead settled for farmer from Scottsdale/Woodstock Tasmania, Guy Elvery Ladbury. After its acquisition by the Hickey family in 1986, and years of restoration (TLC), ‘Bella Vista‘ now sits nestled within Recreation Avenue, proudly with soul.

This home, ‘Ladbury’s Cottage‘ (c.1880-90s), is my first and only home I have ever known. It is time now, to let go and move on with life – for the better.



-May 28th, 2015-

Explorers Memorial Monument

Explorers Memorial Monument
Explorers Memorial Monument

Saturday, the 10th of September, 1938 – the Explorers Memorial monument was erected to commemorate the first crossing of the Blue Mountains by Blaxland, Lawson, Wentwoth and four servants (May, 1813).

In the background is the ‘Bella Vista‘ estate – where ‘Ladbury’s Cottage‘ dwells.



-May 27th, 2015-

Nepean River – 1920s

Nepean River - 1920s
Nepean River – 1920s

A Beautiful View of the Nepean River during the 1920s. Circled is ‘Ladbury’s Cottage‘ on the ‘Bella Vista‘ estate.



-May 10th, 2015-

Cowboy Mickey

Cowboy Mickey
Cowboy Mickey

One of my Dad’s favourite dolls – The 2-Gun ‘Cowboy Mickey’, can be found in TOYLAND. More to come and be shared @ ‘Just Plane Crazy – My Obsession With The Mouse’.




-May 1st, 2015-

Our Gang

Our Gang
Our Gang

My Dad has given me great insight into why these toys are so special. As time rolls on, I dip deeper into my understanding of collecting. Dad’s wealth of knowledge, is something to admire, mightily. His love for these items, originating from a specific range/period in history, is indeed what I would like to honor in the following series of Wedges. Here is my Dad, David, with his collection of Character Soft Toy Dolls (February, 2K15) dating from the early 1920s (Felix the Cat) through to the 1960s (Magilla Gorilla). Not quite ‘Mouse Heaven‘, but still an Arcadia of Visual Pleasure!




2 responses to “Wedges – 2K15 – DIV.5

  1. I am enjoying reading and looking at your website. Still so much to look at and absorb. You are an incredibly talented and intelligent man.

Leave a Reply

